Bloom’s Taxonomy Blooms Digitally

Bloom’s Taxonomy Blooms Digitally by Andrew Churches

http://techlearning.com/article/8670

Reviewed on August 26, 2009

  1. The main idea of this article is to show how the new Bloom’s Taxonomy can integrate technology into the classroom and into the lives of our students. Andrew Churches did a wonderful job of listing examples of what technologies teachers can use to help their students use high order thinking skills. Andrew Churches goes through each of the six thinking skills gives a brief description of what that skill means and then bullets digital additions and their explanations.
  2. 1. In the 1990’s, a former student of Bloom, Lorin Anderson, revised Bloom’s Taxonomy and published this- Bloom’s Revised Taxonomy in 2001. Key to this is the use of verbs rather than nouns for each of the categories and a rearrangement of the sequence within the taxonomy.

       2.Benjamin Bloom’s taxonomy follows the thinking process. You can not understand a concept if you do not first remember it, similarly you can not apply knowledge and concepts if you do not understand them.

     3.Under the first skill: Remembering- This element of the taxonomy does infer the retrieval of material. This is a key element given the growth in knowledge and information.Example: Searching or “Googling”

3. Personally I really enjoyed reading this article. While reading it I wanted to cry because I started to think about to all of the different lessons and activities that I have used in the past that used technology. I looked those activities up on the new Bloom’s Taxonomy to see under what skill level had I been challenging my students and to my surprise I had let my students down. I know I didn’t know this then, but now I am aware of it and going to make changes. I printed out the article so that when I am creating my lesson plans and want to integrate technology I will first check to make sure that it uses higher order thinking skills. This was an easy read article and very informative.

4. I did not see any bias or faulty reasoning in the article. I though the author used facts and good examples that supported his purpose of showing how technology can be used with the Bloom’s Revised Taxonomy to help student achieve high order thinking skills.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by michelle nelson on September 27, 2009 at 2:54 am

    Sharon,
    I do not believe that you are the only one that felt as if you let your students down. I know that we all are working to implement technology in to our classroom, and sometimes it is difficult to make sure that we are truly stretching our students and moving into those higher order thinking skills. I know that I will be looking at this article to make sure that I am successful at that also.
    Michelle

    Reply

  2. Posted by soniacapotosti on September 27, 2009 at 7:06 pm

    Sharon,
    I agree with Michelle…you aren’t alone in feeling that you’ve let your students down. Much of what we do every day is at the bottom of Bloom’s. Your students must grasp the basics before they can apply them. I’m guessing that there are teachers out there that focus on the higher levels and their kids miss out on getting the “basics.” I feel this way because by the time they get to us (8th grade), they act like they’ve never learned ANYTHING! The basics are important, so if that means spending a little extra time at the bottom of the Bloom’s list…so be it. The other levels will come naturally as your students master the basics.
    Sonia

    Reply

  3. Posted by Misty Lim on September 28, 2009 at 12:54 am

    Oh Sharon your being to hard on yourself again. Take it easy. Like Sonia said we all are implementing technology in the best way we can. I think you understand how important it is now that using technology has on the impact of our students. You are doing a wonderful job, future coach, lol!

    Reply

  4. Hey Sharon,
    I agree with you. he first thing I did was copy and paste to my computer and put it with my plan book. It’s right there with my plan book for the writing class we teach. I want to focus on it like you to make sure I am moving my students to a higher level that I really believe they can achieve…if we(teachers) have the knowledge and resources to get them there. Keep striving… I would be proud to have you for one of my kids teachers. You have a desire to grow as a teacher…don’t ever lose that!
    Diane

    Reply

Leave a Reply

