“Student Blogging Guidelines”

Student Blogging Guidelines by Kim Cofino

http://www.techlearning.com/blogs/23336

Reviewed on September 19, 2009

1. The main idea of this article is about a middle school teacher named Kim Cofino working together with other teachers at her school in creating a blog for all of the middle school students. Every student has a blog and is allowed to blog but the students have to use the guidelines that Kim Cofino and the other teachers created. The teachers created these guidelines to help prompt deeper dialogue from the students before they hit publish. The student blogging guidelines consist of 10 guidelines followed by a question to remind them that this is published to the public and you are representing the school. The guidelines that were created are applicable from elementary up to high school. While teaching about blogging they also taught about internet safety that will last them for a life time. They also created comment blogging guidelines as well. Kim Cofino states that she saw a huge improvement in her students thought process. What a wonderful way to teach students to think!

2.

     1. Given that the elementary students created these guidelines after a series of thoughtful lessons and meaningful class discussions, we see these them as prompts for deeper dialogue across classes, not simply a list of rules to follow.

     2. I’m so impressed with the depth of thought shown by our elementary students! Being able to start this conversation with our middle school teachers using resources developed by 3rd, 4th and 5th grade students, clearly demonstrates that even our younger students really do understand both the power and the responsibilities of communicating to a global audience.

     3. Once again, I’m reassured that elementary school is the place to begin this kind of dialogue so that we can provide a solid foundation for 21st century learning that students can continue to build upon year after year.

3. I loved this blog. This summer I took a class and we had to blog a lot. At first I didn’t like it, but by the end I enjoyed it a lot. I understood why the professor had made us do it. I was able to post questions, comments, and personal opinons on there without feeling restricted as long as I felt it was related to the content and I had a good point. I agree with Kim Cofino that 3rd grade it a good grade to start having students blog about their learning and communicating with each other. Plus it’s a quick informal assessment for the teacher and a way for the teacher to communicate with the students. Plus parents can access their childs blog and see what they are learning about. I promised myself this summer I would create a blog for my three science classes and allow my students to use them and to teach them internet safety. This blog has given me my second inspiration to finally put it into action. I have heard first hand how much it improves the thought process. I really like how after the guideline they added a question for the student to think about as well and the blogging comment guidelines as well. I am going to send Kim Cofino a message asking for permission to use her guidelines and to cite her. I enjoyed this blog very much.

4. I did not see any bias in this article. The author uses factual information and personal experience in the article.

One response to this post.

  1. Awesome response! I look forward to hearing how blogging changes your classroom learning process.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

